Sourced ledger - Independent compilation of public documents. Not an official government or funder portal. Last reviewed 2026-09-16.
Sources →Accelerating the transformational shift to a low-carbon economy (GCF FP033)
Mauritius-specific GCF project to expand renewable energy and grid absorption of intermittent generation, including battery storage and rooftop solar, with an Agaléga mini-grid component. Accredited entity: UNDP.
Published amounts
Only lines a cited document publishes. Empty rows mean the source does not give a number, not that the amount is zero.
GCF FP033 financing table: grant USD 28,210,000.
GCF FP033 co-financing table: loan USD 37.9M, grants USD 122M + USD 1.38M, other USD 1.0M + USD 0.9M.
GCF project page states total project value USD 191 million.
Sum of seven dated GCF disbursements on the FP033 page (Sep 2017-Dec 2025). GCF also labels the grant 97% disbursed. Expenditure by implementers is not published as a single figure here.
GCF grant is Mauritius-specific. Co-finance is additional.
No source reviewed for this record states one expenditure figure.
- Per diems
- Not published
- Overheads
- Not published
Not published in the sources reviewed for this record.
Not published in the sources reviewed for this record.
- Start
- 2017
- End / estimated completion
- 2027
Published figures differ: The UNDP project page says more than 2,000 families received a rooftop solar kit. UN Mauritius (April 2026) says more than 3,000 households. Both figures are published and are not reconciled on this record.
Where the money went
Disbursement to an accredited entity is not the same as expenditure at a named site. Site-level rupees or dollars are shown only when a cited report publishes them.
- Disbursed to implementer
- $27,347,855
- Named works sites
- 9 places in public reports
Sum of seven dated GCF disbursements on the FP033 page (Sep 2017-Dec 2025). GCF also labels the grant 97% disbursed. Expenditure by implementers is not published as a single figure here.
CEB Amaury substation (2 MW BESS, 2018)
CEB: first grid-scale BESS commissioned in 2018 at Amaury (2 MW) and Henrietta (2 MW), financed by GCF FP033.
Site-level spend: Not reported
CEB: Battery Energy Storage System →CEB Henrietta substation (2 MW BESS, 2018)
CEB and GCF 2018 APR: 2 MW BESS commissioned 2018 at Henrietta, with Amaury, as the first 4 MW GCF-financed batch.
Site-level spend: Not reported
FP033 Annual Performance Report 2018 →CEB La Tour Koenig substation (2 MW BESS)
UNDP and CEB: part of the 14 MW batch inaugurated December 2021 (La Tour Koenig 2 MW, Anahita 4 MW, Wooton 4 MW, Jin Fei 4 MW).
Site-level spend: Not reported
UNDP supports installation of a 14 MW grid-scale BESS →CEB Anahita substation (4 MW BESS)
UNDP/CEB: 4 MW of the 14 MW GCF-supported batch (Dec 2021).
Site-level spend: Not reported
UNDP supports installation of a 14 MW grid-scale BESS →CEB Wooton substation (4 MW BESS)
UNDP/CEB: 4 MW of the 14 MW GCF-supported batch (Dec 2021).
Site-level spend: Not reported
UNDP supports installation of a 14 MW grid-scale BESS →CEB Jin Fei substation, Riche Terre (4 MW BESS)
UNDP: 14 MW batch inaugurated 16 December 2021 at Jin Fei, Riche Terre. Jin Fei hosts 4 MW of that batch.
Site-level spend: Not reported
UNDP supports installation of a 14 MW grid-scale BESS →CEB Pointe Monnier power station, Rodrigues (1.5 MW BESS)
CEB and UNDP: 1.5 MW BESS at Pointe Monnier, Rodrigues, described as partly financed by the UNDP-GCF partnership.
Site-level spend: Not reported
CEB: Battery Energy Storage System →Rodrigues - rooftop solar (island-level)
UNDP FP033 page: more than 2,000 families including 100 in Rodrigues received a rooftop solar PV kit. No village-level map is published.
Site-level spend: Not reported
UNDP FP033 project page →Agaléga - PV mini-grid component (island-level)
GCF FP033 describes Phase 2 as a photovoltaic mini-power grid for Agaléga. Site-level spend is not published on the GCF project page.
Site-level spend: Not reported
GCF FP033 project page →
Donor reports
Public performance reports linked from the funder. GCF reporting for these projects is annual (APR), not a quarterly calendar unless a document says so. A missing year means it was not on the funder site we reviewed - not that we marked it overdue.
- FP033 Annual Performance Report 2023
Annual performance report · 2023 · cover 2024-08-02 · Green Climate Fund / UNDP
- FP033 interim evaluation
Evaluation · cover 2023-11-16 · Green Climate Fund / UNDP
- FP033 Annual Performance Report 2022
Annual performance report · 2022 · cover 2023-07-11 · Green Climate Fund / UNDP
- FP033 Annual Performance Report 2020
Annual performance report · 2020 · cover 2021-08-19 · Green Climate Fund / UNDP
- FP033 Annual Performance Report 2019
Annual performance report · 2019 · cover 2020-03-01 · Green Climate Fund / UNDP
- FP033 Annual Performance Report 2018
Annual performance report · 2018 · cover 2019-03-01 · Green Climate Fund / UNDP
- FP033 Annual Performance Report 2017
Annual performance report · 2017 · cover 2018-03-23 · Green Climate Fund / UNDP
- FP033 Annual Performance Report 2021
Annual performance report · 2021 · Green Climate Fund / UNDP
Results stated by sources
- 18 MW utility-scale battery energy storage system, GCF grant USD 10.5M, reported fully operational since December 2021. Source
- UNDP project page (reviewed 2026): more than 2,000 families, including 100 in Rodrigues, received a rooftop solar PV kit. Source
- UN Mauritius (April 2026) reports more than 3,000 low-income households across Mauritius, Rodrigues and Agaléga received rooftop PV. That figure differs from the UNDP project-page “more than 2,000 families” line - both are published; neither is reconciled here. Source
Sources
- GCF FP033 project page
Green Climate Fund · as of 2026-09
- UNDP FP033 project page
UNDP · as of 2026-09
Confidence: Official funder register · Last reviewed 2026-09-16